Skip to content

If I Change My Relationship On Facebook Will Everyone See It?

    If I Change My Relationship On Facebook Will Everyone See It?

    If I Change My Relationship On Facebook Will Everyone See It?

    Facebook is designed for sharing. We post our pictures there from the party last night, share our favorite memes, and celebrate birthdays.

    Sharing also happens regarding the updates to relationships in our lives. This can be really exciting, and we want to share it with the world.

    Sometimes though when we’re using social media, there are certain things we may want to keep private, perhaps we don’t want everyone to see certain pictures, we want to delete our search history, or hide certain messages

    Maybe we don’t feel comfortable with everyone knowing our relationship status for example, and we want to keep things private and low-key. We know many folks are wondering if I change my relationship on Facebook will everyone see it? We’re here to help answer that.

    Also, sometimes we may be unfortunately updating that a relationship didn’t work out. Relationship updates like this can be painful, and oftentimes we don’t want to make that pain worse by sharing it with the world and having them like and comment on our newly single status.

    So if you’re wondering if I change my relationship on Facebook will everyone see it? The answer is no, not necessarily, but you have to do a few things to control that.

    How To Control If You Relationship Update Will Be Shared

    If you update your relationship status to single or divorced, Facebook is smart enough to automatically not post that on your timeline. The vast majority of people don’t want that update going out in those situations, so Facebook will update it without alerting your friends.

    If you want to update your status without posting to the timeline follow these steps:

    1. Click on your account button
    2. Click on the “About” tab
    3. Go to “Family and Relationships”
    4. Find what you’d like to update
    5. Click the privacy icon beside it
    6. Change the privacy status to only me
    7. Update you status
    8. Hit Save

    This will allow you to update the status without alerting everyone on your friends list. This will also allow you to hide the status moving forward if you’d like to keep it set to private.

    Hopefully this answered the question “If I Change My Relationship On Facebook Will Everyone See It?”

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.